Round 3 Begins 

Round 3 of chemo kicked off and I met with the doctor this morning. Whatever “spikes” (or other medical term that I can’t remember) he tracks were around 7+ in January, down to 3+ a few weeks ago and down to 1.8 as of last week. He (& us) are very happy with the results. I’m feeling very good on top of that too. The only concern is making sure the numbness in my hands and feet aren’t numb full time. Which, it seems it does come and go at times…. I just couldn’t remember sitting in the office this morning.

 All in all, I expect the next 14 days to go well, as it seems the first part of the week after chemo (the off week) that it hits me. That gives me at least 14 days of feeling well and I’ll take them. All things considered, it could be very different experience if a different cancer had been discovered.

Paul wrote to the church (people) in Philippi, and told them the following:  “Yet it was good of you to share in my troubles. Moreover, as you Philippians know, in the early days of your acquaintance with the gospel, when I set out from Macedonia, not one church shared with me in the matter of giving and receiving, except you only; for even when I was in Thessalonica, you sent me aid more than once when I was in need.” ‭‭Philippians‬ ‭4:14-16‬ ‭NIV‬‬ http://bible.com/111/php.4.14-16.niv

Just prior to this, he said “I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.” ‭‭Philippians‬ ‭4:11‬ ‭NIV‬‬ http://bible.com/111/php.4.11.niv

Many times, we focus on the fact that Paul was content and that is a good quality. He wrote the folks at The Philippi church, telling them it was good that they shared with him. Now, I’m trying to be content and think I am, but I think it’s been good that so many of you- friends and family have helped or tried to help- only finding that I haven’t needed a lot so far. 

Helping others should be a core value that we all have. Both my professions have been based on it. I haven’t always done my best at it, but haven’t totally ignored it 100% of the time either. I definitely have a different perspective now and sometimes, that’s what it takes to get better at something. Many close to me have expressed that they’re amazed at how I can find something positive or how I can learn anything in the middle of this. It’s that perspective thing, I don’t look at things quite the same at times. I’m either different, weird or it’s a gift. I prefer and hope it’s a gift- I have enough other weird/different ways… 

So, for everyone wishing to help, I appreciate the willingness and we’ll let you know when there is a need. If you have done something, we appreciate it also. You’ve stepped in and been the church to us- just like the church at Philippi was to Paul.

One thought on “Round 3 Begins 

  1. Sounds like great news❤
    You said that you don’t need help right now but KNOW that I’m still here if you need me.
    Love you❤❤❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

