Cardiac Update 

Well, I met with a Cardiac Surgeon this morning to get signed off on moving forward with the currently scheduled stem cell transplant timeline. Here comes the proverbial “I’ve got good news and bad news….”
The stem cell transplant is still on, nothing changed. However, I will have to undergo open heart surgery down the road for the enlarged aorta. He said if I weren’t going through cancer, we’d be scheduling the surgery within six months. For now, all I know is he will refer me to a doctor who does the surgery (aortic valve sparing surgery- think that’s it…) more than he does. Not sure when I’ll hear from that doctor. I’ll deal with the myeloma first and then get surgery scheduled at some point, I’m guessing next year.
I “liked” a comment earlier this morning on Facebook, “Don’t ask for a light load, but rather ask for a strong back.” I thought cancer was a pretty good opponent to fight by itself, but now I’m adding an open heart surgery too. God is gonna shine through thisalso! He’d already given me a strong back, before I was diagnosed, I just didn’t know it until I needed it. It was there for some time, ready for when I needed it. When confronted with cancer, somehow, I was ok with it and just knew God had it in His hands. While, I was obviously shocked at today’s news, it’s just another step toward total health and I haven’t came this far to give up or get discouraged. God wasn’t surprised. He’s not overwhelmed. He’s not afraid. He is in control though.

Prayers? Heck yeah. I can still use them now and don’t forget to add Jason to your prayers too. Thanks in advance for the thoughts, prayers and offers of help.

7 thoughts on “Cardiac Update 

  1. I’m so proud of you and your positivity!
    We all know that you’re gonna get through the rest of this journey with flying colors and will have an amazing testimony to shout from the mountain tops when this is all behind you.
    Love you ❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am really sorry you have to add more health problems to your list. I know that God will see you through all of this. Prayers for your family, as well as Kelly’s now with the loss of her Aunt Glenda.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for your strong testimony as you go through this journey. I love the way you relate your various obstacles and situations to larger faith issues that anyone can relate to. It would be so easy for you to be totally consumed with your health, but instead you are using what’s happening in your body to point others to God. WOW! You will not know until heaven how many people your blog has influenced for Christ. Ken and I are praying for your complete healing–from cancer and heart issues.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

